Materials Research Society-National Science Foundation PREM Research Scholars Summit


Each year, in collaboration with the National Science Foundation’s Partnerships for Research and Education in Materials (PREM) program, MRS hosts the PREM Research Scholars Summit. This program provides opportunities for student scholars to engage with their fellow materials researchers—from undergraduate and graduate students to PhD-level scientists and engineers— and to meet key stakeholders within the materials community. Throughout this program, students have the opportunity to take part in a variety of mentoring, leadership, and professional development sessions, and to present their research contributions to the broader scientific community.

50th Anniversary Meeting Highlights | MRS Spring Meeting Chairs

MRS Meeting Chairs are volunteers from the MRS membership who devote a significant amount of time and effort to shape and develop an MRS meeting. In this interview with MRS TV, 2023 MRS Spring Meeting chairs Tae-Woo Lee of Seoul National University and Ashley White of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory discuss the 50th anniversary of the Materials Research Society, along with highlights from the Meeting and the role of the Meeting Chair.

Regnerative Medicine - 2022 Von Hippel Award Winner Samuel Stupp

The 2022 MRS Von Hippel Award, the society’s highest honor, is awarded to Samuel Stupp of Northwestern University for pioneering contributions to the development and understanding of a broad range of molecularly designed supramolecular soft materials that function as bioactive scaffolds in regenerative medicine, matrices for photocatalytic activity, and stimuli-responsive robotic structures.

MRS TV talks to Dr. Stupp about his pioneering work.



Nominate a deserving colleague for an MRS Award!

The MRS Awards Committee oversees all society awards according to policies approved by the Board of Directors, arranges for the preparation and presentation of awards, and oversees publicity for all awards.

MRS TV talks to Awards Committee chair Suveen Mathaudhu about the society’s awards program. Find a complete list of MRS awards at